River Parkway Trust announces Dr. Julia O'Kane as new Board President 

O'Kane will be the fourth person to become president since the Trust was founded in 1988

May 2, 2019

boardpresidentsFresno, CA -The San Joaquin River Parkway and Conservation Trust, Inc. is pleased to announce that Dr. Julia O’Kane has been elected as the organization’s new board president. Dr. O’Kane joined the River Parkway Trust’s Board of Directors in 2008. She will be the fourth person to become president since the Trust was founded in 1988.

Dr. O’Kane brings decades of experience as an educator in Madera as a teacher, administrator, and superintendent for the Madera Unified School District. A passion for education is what inspired her to become involved with the River Parkway Trust around the time of the organization’s inception in 1988. She wanted to help local children experience outdoor education without having to travel outside the community.

“Dr. O’Kane was instrumental in the creation of the Trust’s school field trip program in the late 1980s, and in the recent expansion of the program with Madera Unified School District,” said the organization’s executive director Sharon Weaver. “We’re excited to see how she will continue to carry out the vision of connecting our community to the San Joaquin River in her new role as president.”

“I have fond memories of working with Julia to develop our first outdoor field trip program at the river. Early on we realized how important it was that local children felt connected to the river. Julia helped us create meaningful opportunities for students to learn and explore outside. It’s an honor for me to work with her to continue the effort we started all those years ago,” shared Coke Hallowell the Trust’s first board president and current chairman of the board.

O’Kane is succeeding Bart Bohn who has served as the River Parkway Trust’s president since 2015. Bohn will continue to serve on the board with a focus on program services and events at the Coke Hallowell Center for River Studies (River Center).

“It is an honor to be asked to lead the Trust’s board as we continue to explore the possibilities for expanding access for our community to the riches of the San Joaquin River Parkway. My predecessors Coke Hallowell, George Folsom, and Bart Bohn have set a steady course. I am excited to help us continue on the path,” said Dr. O’Kane.

The San Joaquin River Parkway and Conservation Trust, Inc. is a 501(c)3 nonprofit land trust formed in 1988 to create and protect the 22-mile San Joaquin River Parkway. More information about the organization is available at www.riverparkway.org.

*Photo: River Parkway Trust Board Presidents from left to right, Bart Bohn, Coke Hallowell, Dr. Julia O'Kane, George Folsom


Sharon Weaver, Executive Director 
(559) 248-8480 ext. 105 
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.